Narrative Poems

Narrative Poems

By C. S. Lewis

Paperback £9.99


The poems are full of Lewis’s romantic imagination; they display his love and knowlege of classic mythology and his own mastery of the English language.

Dymer (1926)
• Launcelot (?early 1930s)
• The Nameless Isle (1930)
• The Queen of Drum (1938)

Dymer’ was begun by Lewis as a story in prose and the original idea had come to him’ at the age of 17. It tells the story of a man who begets a monster. The monster kills his father and becomes a god.

Launcelot’ is based on the legend of King Arthur and the Holy Grail and The Nameless Isle’ is the story of a shipwrecked mariner and his adventures on a magic island.

The Queen of Drum’ tells of an old pompous king and his young queen who eventually has to choose between heaven, hell and fairyland.

Product Details

ISBN: 9780006278375

ISBN10: 000627837X

Imprint: Fount

On Sale: 20/05/2011

129 x 198mm

Pages: 192

List Price 9.99 GBP

BISAC1: Humanities / Christian spirituality & religious experience

BISAC2: Literature Studies / Poetry by individual poets